Some Quick and Healthy Meals for the New Year!

Trying some new foods and fun recipes in 2016!

  • There is a new yogurt in the dairy aisle,  Plenti Oatmeal Meets Greek Yogurt.  It’s oatmeal and refrigerated Greek yogurt combined. It provides 16 grams of whole grain and 11 grams of protein. This is a great product to make part of your breakfast. Pair it with a fruit and you will be satisfied till lunch!
  • Have you heard of ZOODLES? These are noodles made from zucchini. Over the summer I bought a spiralizer from Sur La Table and went to town make pretty ribbons from everything! My kids especially loved the spiraled cucumbers with zesty Italian dressing and red onion. I recently found a recipe that used zucchini noodles with a spicy peanut sauce, it was amazing! You can always mix the zucchini noodles with lo men noodles if you are skeptical 🙂
  • I admit I have avoided the cauliflower rage. Cauliflower is now transforming into pizza crust and tater tots, it just seemed too much for me. Well, I decided to attempt the cauliflower sauce which has been described as an amazing low calorie alfredo sauce. I found a simple recipe and to my surprise loved the end result. Yes you can tell it is made from cauliflower, but I was amazed how flavorful it was on pasta. Try this for a quick lower calorie dinner!

 

Leave a Reply

